Solved

Shadow VR will not start

• 12 December 2020
  • 13 replies

Hi! After a successful first experience with ShadowVR (see my post on the #vr-discussion channel of the Shadow France Discord server), a few days ago, I failed to make it work this morning… The update progress was stuck.

I recorded a 11-minute video to share my experience, hoping that it would help you understand what happened and know how to fix it: 

… and a second (shorter) one, after restarting ShadowVR: 

On my end, as I am a software developer and would love to provide you with more details, I think that it would be helpful to display some logs, to see what’s happening and display any errors that may have happened.

icon

Best answer by Raph from Shadow 16 December 2020, 11:27

Hi @adrienjoly and thank you for your feedback.
We are aware start issues are still hindering the experience.
For a few days now we have been working on Continuous Integration and merging our VR environment with our alpha desktop one. This is a transition step that is generating more issues for the moment.

As soon as we are done with it, I will inform you so you can test again.

View original

13 replies

News: I tried again this morning. This time, I was stuck at the “Starting ShadowVR” screen.

I would have liked to login from Shadow’s desktop client, on my Mac, to see what’s going on on the Shadow PC. But it takes so much time to install the “officielle” version back onto it (which seems to be required whenever I try to login again from desktop) that I prefer to wait for your reply before trying anything else.

Yup have the same issue Adrien.

I think something has changed at the shadow end. 

Previously the update for the Shadow VR would jump to 10% then 30% odd then higher percentages but in random amounts.  Now it jumps to 8% then progresses in 8-9% chunks pretty evenly until 100%.

I think then streaming does not start as the screen is completely black.